December 2018

Calendar Calendar

Adamson now seeks rematch against Archers, season ban on blunder ref

Go down

Adamson now seeks rematch against Archers, season ban on blunder ref

Post by ramieljosh18 on Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:51 am

N a sudden change of heart, Adamson said on Friday it will ask the UAAP technical committee for a rematch of the Falcons’ match against De La Salle on Wednesday that was marred by a referee's misjudgement in the endgame.

The UAAP’s media bureau said on Friday the host school will seek a replay of the Falcons' 67-70 loss to De La Salle as well as a season ban on referee Francisco Olivar on top of the three-game suspension slapped on the official by UAAP commissioner Chito Loyzaga.

Adamson coach Leo Austria or any school official could not be reached for comment as of posting time.

On Thursday, Adamson announced that it was filing a complaint over what they described as a "poorly officiated game," although officials were quick to point out that they were not after a rematch as the game had already been decided. (For full story, see Adamson plans official complaint over 'poorly officiated' game against La Salle)

The change of heart came after Lozaga admitted in a memorandum that Olivar made an "untimely decision" when he slapped an unsportsmanlike foul on Falcon Gian Abrigo while he jockeyed for position with La Salle center Norbert Torres with 15.9 seconds left in the contest. (For full story, see Loyzaga suspends ref for 'untimely decision,' says sorry to Adamson)

The media bureau said Adamson will file the official complaint before the technical committee on Saturday signed by Austria and either UAAP president Fr. Max Rendon or secretary-treasurer Malou Isip.

A rematch took place in the league only last season when the UAAP board ordered a replay of National University’s loss to Far Eastern University after RR Garcia’s buzzer-beating lay-up was deemed inconclusive.

NU, which filed the protest, won the rematch.

However, league insiders immediately aired doubts on whether such a request would prosper for two reasons: one, the wrong call didn't involve a technicality or a wrong interpretation of the rule and, two, Adamson failed to file a protest within the timeframe allowed by the league.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports

Posts : 159
Join date : 2013-06-10
Age : 42

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum